Sign up to
news feeds:

Select RSS feed catergory:

The XXI century will be a сentury either of total all-embracing crisis or of moral and spiritual healing that will reinvigorate humankind. It is my conviction that all of us - all reasonable political leaders, all spiritual and ideological movements, all  faiths - must help in this transition to a triumph of humanism and justice, in making the XXI century a century of a new human renaissance.

Русский Русский

About us



The International Foundation for Socio-Economic and Political Studies (The Gorbachev Foundation) was founded by Mikhail S. Gorbachev, former President of the USSR, in December 1991. The Gorbachev Foundation started its work in January 1992.

President of the Gorbachev Foundation: Mikhail Gorbachev

Vice-President: Irina Virganskaya

The Gorbachev Foundation is an international non-governmental non-profit organization. Legal entities and individuals from any country may take part in the Foundation’s activities in a voluntary capacity. The Gorbachev Foundation has developed links of close cooperation with leading universities, foundations, international organizations, government bodies and non-governmental organizations in various countries all over the world.

The Gorbachev Foundation is one of the first independent think tanks in modern Russia. It conducts research into social, economic and political problems of critical importance at the current stage in Russian and world history. The Foundation seeks to promote democratic values as well as moral and humanist principles in the life of society.

The Foundation’s conceptual framework is based on the belief that in the age of globalization Russia and the rest of the world need new thinking – a new interpretation of the ideas of progress and humanism and evolving principles for a more equitable world order. The Foundation facilitates open-minded dialogue among experts and the public and wants to apply research findings for the benefit of civil society’s development and to help educate a new generation of scholars and politicians.


The keynote of the Foundation’s activities is Toward a New Civilization


Main Areas of Activity


Since the Foundation’s inception its research work has focused on several areas, including global problems, economic, political and social problems and processes in Russia and in the world, the history of Perestroika in the USSR, and Russia’s recent history.

The Foundation has held a number of international and national conferences, seminars and Round Tables and published monographs and papers based on its research findings. Reports prepared by the Foundation have been submitted to the United Nations and other international organizations as well as to heads of states and governments, parliaments, heads of major corporations, and political, spiritual and opinion leaders. These reports, such as Global Security (prepared in cooperation with the Gorbachev Foundation/USA and the Rajiv Gandhi Foundation in 1994), Russia’s National Interests and Security Problems (1997, in Russian), Russia’s Self-Identification in a Globalizing World (2000, in Russian), Perestroika: Twenty Years Later (2005, in Russian) and Social Inequality and Public Policy (2006, in Russian) have been well received by political leaders and the academic community.

Over the years of the Foundation’s existence, its President and research fellows have published dozens of books and brochures and hundreds of articles in periodicals in Russia and across the world.

Mikhail Gorbachev travels extensively in Russia and abroad attending international conferences, giving lectures and speeches and meeting with the public, young people, students, prominent political and public figures, members of parliament and representatives of the United Nations and other international organizations. The themes of his talks and lectures include problems of globalization and international security, combating poverty and backwardness, environmental challenges including the preservation of the planet’s water resources, economic cooperation, the future of democratic Russia, prospects of European unity, and others.

The former President of the Soviet Union and the Foundation’s researchers have given hundreds of lectures to various audiences. The Gorbachev Foundation has become a significant element in Russia’s emerging civil society. Among the participants in its research projects are respected scholars and researchers from Russia, other CIS states, the United States, Canada, Japan, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, South Korea, and other countries.

The Gorbachev Foundation attaches particular importance to humanitarian and charitable projects, a tradition which the Gorbachev family did much to revive and promote in Russia. While doing what it can to help patients in need of treatment and Russian medical institutions, the Foundation’s main emphasis has been on children’s health. The Foundation has given critically important help to Russia’s Research Institute of Pediatric Hematology to buy medical equipment and supplies, train physicians and medical personnel and implement advanced techniques to cure blood diseases. With direct financial support from the Foundation and its partners, the first Bone Marrow Transplantation Center for children with leukemia was established in Moscow, with several other similar centers in other regions of Russia.

Overall, the Gorbachev Foundation has channeled over million to various humanitarian programs. In raising the money the Gorbachev Foundation has relied on the support of its partners, including the American Cancer Society, charitable organizations in the United States and Germany, and individual philanthropists.

Raising funds to finance the construction of Raisa Gorbachev Center for Children’s Hematology and Marrow Transplantation in St. Petersburg has been the top priority in the Foundation’s charitable activities since 2002.

In 2006 the Raisa Gorbachev International Foundation was established in London with the support of the Gorbachev Foundation, the Gorbachev family, and Alexander Lebedev, member of the Russian State Duma and President of the Charitable Reserve Fund to finance projects aimed at combating childhood leukemia and cancer. The Foundation helped finance the construction of the Raisa Gorbachev Center for Children’s Hematology and Marrow Transplantation in St. Petersburg, which was inaugurated on September 20, 2007.



The Foundation Projects and Structural Subdivisions

One of the Foundation’s priority project during the 1990s was The Global World of the XXI Century: Challenges and Responses. A group of Russian and foreign scholars united under the auspices of the Gorbachev Foundation, with Mikhail Gorbachev’s personal participation and under his general guidance, conducted a three-year study of the process of globalization, including its philosophical, socio-cultural, environmental, political and economic aspects and the problems of global security. A sub-project Russia in the Emerging Global System explored various factors affecting Russia’s development, its place and role in the future world order and in the resolution of global problems. A fundamental monograph, Facets of Globalization, based on the project’s findings was published in 2003 and became one of the first attempts in Russia to provide a general overview of the problem.

The University of Calgary – the Gorbachev Foundation (UCGF), a Russian-Canadian project, was launched in 1993 with the aim of promoting democratic reforms in Russian society. During the subsequent years, with support from Canadian International Development Agency, over 40 projects were carried out in Moscow and in various regions of the Russian Federation. Each of them addressed specific public policy issues in the economy, the social sphere, culture, education, relations between the state and civil society and between Russia’s federal and regional authorities, and gender and information problems. The studies’ findings were discussed at numerous Round Tables, seminars and conferences and have been the basis for published monographs and collected articles. The project’s decennary was summarized in the monograph Russia’s Public Policy (2005).

Documentary History of Perestroika is a project devoted to the historical and archival reconstruction of Perestroika’s concept and its implementation. The study is based on the notes that Gorbachev’s assistants were taking at meetings of the Politburo of the Communist Party Central Committee. The books The Politburo Meetings: Notes Taken by Anatoly Chernyayev, Vadim Medvedev, Georgi Shakhnazarov (1985-1991), Mikhail Gorbachev and the German Question, and The Union Could Have Been Preserved have been published as part of this project.

Present-day activities of the former USSR President are covered in the project Mikhail Gorbachev after the Kremlin: A Record of Events and Socio-Political Activities.

The purpose of the Expertise Round Table is to analyze major trends in socio-economic development and politics in Russia and the rest of the world. Discussions (“brainstorming” sessions) have been held as part of this project with prominent Russian experts participating. Round Table discussions are followed by the preparation of papers reflecting the range of opinions on the issues debated. They are posted on the Foundation’s website and published as brochures under the common title The Expertise Round Table.

The Gorbachev Readings project focuses on Russia’s recent history. The project is being developed on the basis of the Gorbachev Foundation’s archive and library, containing unique records of the period of Perestroika and extensive material on the subsequent period. The Gorbachev Readings include discussions of the origin and development of democratic changes in Russia, its changing position in contemporary world and the emergence of civil society. These discussions serve an educational purpose, helping to shape public opinion on the historical significance of democratic changes initiated during the years of Perestroika and publicize the results of research conducted in Russia and abroad. Scholars from Russia and other countries, public and political figures and journalists have taken part in the Readings. Discussion materials are published in the yearly collections The Gorbachev Readings.

The Raisa Maximovna Club, launched by Raisa Gorbachev in 1997, supports initiatives that advance civil society’s influence in Russia and is an effort to actively involve women in this process. The Club holds discussions, scholarly and practical conferences and carries out research and charity projects. The Club was among the first forums to open public debate on many urgent problems of today’s Russia, such as neglected children, worsening of social and domestic violence, gender inequality and restrictions on women’s participation in public policy-making, the crisis of the education system, obstacles to charitable activities, and difficulties faced by social journalism. The Club’s charitable activities are mainly aimed to help parentless children. Scholars, political and public figures, journalists, and public organizations’ representatives have participated in the events organized by the Club. As a result of these conferences, numerous articles and interviews have been published as well as eight books of collected works and monographs.

The Archive’s main stock is composed of print, electronic and audiovisual content reflecting the activities of Mikhail Gorbachev as well as major events in Russia’s recent socio-political history. These resources are based on materials donated by the Gorbachev family and their close associates and the Gorbachev Foundation’s materials. The Archive contains more than 30,000 items, including materials donated by Mikhail Gorbachev, Anatoly Chernyayev, Vadim Zagladin, Georgi Shakhnazarov, Vadim Medvedev, as well as the Gorbachev Foundation’s documents. The archive also has a unique collection of over 20,000 photographs.

The Library contains about 6,000 books, brochures and articles in Russian and in foreign languages as well as publications on Perestroika and Mikhail Gorbachev’s activities in keeping with the research areas of the Foundation. The library’s reading room is open to researchers and holds regular displays of books and articles issued by Russian and foreign publishers.

On March 11, 2005 the Gorbachev Foundation held an opening ceremony of its exhibit Mikhail Gorbachev: Life and Reforms, aimed at demonstrating the unique experience of Perestroika and its dramatic complexity. Rare documents from personal archives of Mikhail Gorbachev and his associates collected in the Gorbachev Foundation testify to the spirit and realities of the time of Perestroika.

The exhibit Mikhail Gorbachev: Life and Reforms is the Gorbachev Foundation’s contribution to the study of Russia’s contemporary history. The main purpose of the display is to educate the younger generation of Russians about the period of Perestroika, its main architect and its principal actors, and to provide insights into the true history of the country.

The exhibit’s concept was developed by Irina Virganskaya, the Vice President of the Gorbachev Foundation, and designed by Alexei Litvin, Armen Sargsyan and Yuliya Lombroso.

Подписаться
на новости разделов:

Выберите RSS-ленту:

XXI век станет либо веком тотального обострения смертоносного кризиса, либо же веком морального очищения и духовного выздоровления человечества. Его всестороннего возрождения. Убежден, все мы – все разумные политические силы, все духовные и идейные течения, все конфессии – призваны содействовать этому переходу, победе человечности и справедливости. Тому, чтобы XXI век стал веком возрождения, веком Человека.

     
English English

О фонде

Международный Фонд социально-экономических и политологических исследований (Горбачев-Фонд) основан Президентом СССР Михаилом Сергеевичем Горбачевым в декабре 1991 года. Горбачев-Фонд начал свою деятельность в январе 1992 года.

Президент Фонда - Михаил Сергеевич Горбачев.

Вице-президент - Ирина Михайловна Горбачева-Вирганская.

Горбачев-Фонд — международная неправительственная, неприбыльная организация. В деятельности Фонда на добровольных началах могут принимать участие юридические лица и граждане любых государств. Горбачев-Фонд постоянно сотрудничает с ведущими университетами, фондами, международными организациями, государственными структурами и неправительственными объединениями в разных странах мира.

Горбачев-Фонд - один из первых независимых «мозговых центров» в современной России. Он проводит исследования социальных, экономических и политических проблем, актуальных для нынешнего этапа российской и мировой истории. Фонд стремится содействовать утверждению демократических ценностей, нравственных, гуманистических начал в жизни общества.

Концепция Фонда основана на убеждении, что в условиях глобализации стране и миру нужно новое мышление, новое прочтение идей прогресса и гуманизма, разработка принципов более справедливого миропорядка. Фонд содействует открытому диалогу между экспертами и общественностью, стремясь к использованию результатов научных исследований в интересах развития гражданского общества, становления ученых и политиков нового поколения.

 

Общий девиз работы Фонда - «К новой цивилизации».

 

Направления деятельности

Исследовательская работа Фонда с начала его существования велась по нескольким направлениям: глобальные проблемы, социально – экономические и социально-политические процессы в России и мире, история Перестройки, новейшая история России.

Фонд проводит международные и российские конференции, семинары, «круглые столы» экспертов. По результатам исследований и конференций публикуются монографии и сборники материалов. Доклады, подготовленные Фондом, представляются в ООН и другие международные организации, направляются главам государств, правительств, парламентов, руководителям крупнейших корпораций, политическим, интеллектуальным и духовным лидерам. Широкий отклик в политических и научных кругах получили доклады «Глобальная безопасность» (1994, подготовлен совместно с «Горбачев-Фондом/Северная Америка» и «Фондом Раджива Ганди»), «Национальные интересы и проблемы безопасности России» (1997), «Самоопределение России». Доклад по итогам исследования «Россия в формирующейся глобальной системе (2000), «Перестройка двадцать лет спустя» (2005), «Социальное неравенство и публичная политика» (2006).

За время существования Фонда его Президент и сотрудники опубликовали несколько десятков книг и брошюр, сотни статей в периодических изданиях в России и за рубежом.

Важное место в деятельности Фонда занимают поездки М.С. Горбачева по России и зарубежным странам. Президент Фонда участвует в международных конференциях, выступает с докладами и лекциями, встречается с общественностью, молодежью и студентами, видными политическими и общественными деятелями, парламентариями, представителями международных организаций, начиная с ООН. Темы выступлений М.С. Горбачева: проблемы глобализации и международной безопасности, включая проблемы ядерного разоружения; борьба с бедностью и отсталостью, экологические вызовы, в том числе вопросы, связанные с сохранением водных ресурсов планеты; экономическое сотрудничество, будущее России, европейские процессы и т.д.

Экс-президент СССР, сотрудники Фонда прочитали сотни лекций в самых разных аудиториях. Горбачев-Фонд стал одним из важных элементов нарождающегося гражданского общества в России. В исследовательской деятельности Фонда участвуют видные представители научных кругов России, стран СНГ, США, Канады, Японии, Германии, Франции, Испании, Италии, Южной Кореи и других стран.

Особое внимание Фонд уделяет программам гуманитарной помощи и благотворительности. Это продолжение традиции, в возрождении которой в нашей стране семья Горбачевых сыграла важную роль. Оказывая посильную помощь людям, нуждающимся в лечении, а также российским медицинским учреждениям, Горбачев-Фонд считает приоритетом в этой области детское здравоохранение. Фонд оказал решающее содействие Научно-исследовательскому институту детской гематологии в закупке оборудования и лекарств, подготовке врачей и медперсонала, во внедрении и освоении передовых методов лечения заболеваний крови. При прямой финансовой поддержке Фонда, его партнеров был создан первый в Москве Центр трансплантации костного мозга для детей, страдающих лейкемией, а затем ряд подобных центров в российских регионах.

За время деятельности Горбачев-Фонда на гуманитарные программы в России было направлено более одиннадцати миллионов долларов США. При сборе средств Фонд опирается на своих партнеров, среди которых: Американское онкологическое общество, благотворительные американские и немецкие организации, отдельные филантропы.

С 2002 г. приоритетным направлением гуманитарной деятельности Фонда стал сбор средств для строительства здания Института детской гематологии и трансплантологии имени Раисы Максимовны Горбачевой в Санкт-Петербурге.

В 2006 г. при поддержке Горбачев-Фонда, семьи Горбачевых и депутата Государственной Думы РФ, Президента Благотворительного Резервного Фонда А.Е. Лебедева в Лондоне создан Международный Фонд имени Раисы Горбачевой, финансирующий проекты, направленные на борьбу с детской лейкемией и раком. При участии Фонда было осуществлено строительство Института детской гематологии и трансплантологии имени Р.М.Горбачевой в Санкт-Петербурге, торжественное открытие которого состоялось 20 сентября 2007 г.

 

Проекты и структурные подразделения

 В 90-е годы одним из приоритетных в работе Фонда был проект «Глобальный мир XXI века: вызовы и ответы». Группа российских и зарубежных ученых, объединившихся под эгидой Горбачев-Фонда, под общим руководством и с личным участием Михаила Сергеевича Горбачева в течение трех лет вела разносторонние исследования процесса глобализации, включая ее философский, социально- культурный, экологический, политический и экономический аспекты, а также проблемы глобальной безопасности. В рамках подпроекта «Россия в формирующейся глобальной системе» изучены факторы, влияющие на развитие нашей страны, ее роль и место в будущем мироустройстве и решении глобальных проблем. В 2003 г. по результатам проекта опубликована фундаментальная монография «Грани глобализации», ставшая одной из первых в России обобщающих работ по этой проблеме.

Российско-канадский проект Университет Калгари - Горбачев-Фонд (УКГФ) был учрежден в 1993 г.-с целью содействия демократическим реформам в российском обществе. В течение последующих лет в рамках УКГФ при поддержке Канадского агентства международного развития были осуществлены более 40 проектов в Москве и регионах России. Все они посвящены конкретным исследованиям наиболее актуальных вопросов публичной политики в различных областях общественной жизни: в экономике, социальной сфере, культуре, образовании, во взаимоотношениях государства и гражданского общества, федерального центра и регионов России, в решении гендерных и информационных проблем. По материалам проведенных исследований прошли десятки «круглых столов», семинаров и конференций, опубликованы монографии и сборники статей. Десятилетняя деятельность проекта обобщена в монографии «Публичная политика в России».

Проект «Документальная история Перестройки» посвящен историко-архивной реконструкции замысла Перестройки и его реализации. Исследование основано на записях, которые вели помощники М.С. Горбачева на заседаниях Политбюро ЦК КПСС. В рамках проекта изданы книги «В Политбюро ЦК КПСС... По записям Анатолия Черняева, Вадима Медведева, Георгия Шахназарова (1985-1991)», «Михаил Горбачев и германский вопрос», «Союз можно было сохранить».

Современная деятельность Экс-президента СССР представлена в проекте «Михаил Горбачев после Кремля: хроника событий и общественно-политической деятельности».

Цель проекта «Экспертиза»- анализ социально-экономической и политической ситуации в России и в мире. В рамках проекта организуются серии обсуждений («мозговых штурмов») с участием ведущих российских экспертов. Обсуждения проводятся в форме круглых столов.

Материалы обсуждений публикуются на сайте и издаются Горбачев-Фондом в виде брошюр под общим названием «Круглый стол “Экспертиза”».

Проект «Горбачевские чтения» посвящен исследованиям новейшей истории России. Проект разрабатывается на базе архива и библиотеки Горбачев-Фонда, где собраны уникальные свидетельства периода Перестройки и многочисленные материалы последующего периода. «Горбачевские чтения» - это дискуссии об истоках и развитии демократических преобразований в России, ее изменяющемся положении в современном мире, о становлении гражданского общества. Такие обсуждения выполняют просветительскую миссию, формируют общественное мнение об историческом значении демократических преобразований, начатых в Перестройку, и способствуют популяризации результатов отечественных и зарубежных исследований. В Чтениях принимают участие исследователи из России и из-за рубежа, общественные деятели, политики, журналисты. Материалы обсуждений публикуются в ежегодниках «Горбачевские чтения».

Проект «Клуб Раисы Максимовны», начатый P.M. Горбачевой в 1997 г., поддерживает инициативы, способствующие росту влияния гражданского общества в России и предполагающие активное участие женщин в этом процессе. «Клуб Раисы Максимовны» проводит дискуссии, научно-практические конференции, осуществляет исследовательские проекты и благотворительные акции. Клуб одним из первых начал публичное обсуждение многих проблем современной России: таких как детская беспризорность, рост насилия в обществе и семье, гендерное неравенство и ограничения участия женщин в публичной политике, кризис системы образования, препятствия на пути благотворительности, трудности в развитии социальной журналистики. Благотворительные акции Клуба направлены в первую очередь на помощь детям, оставшимся без попечения родителей. В мероприятиях Клуба участвуют ученые, политики, общественные деятели, журналисты, представители общественных организаций. По материалам конференций Клуба публикуются статьи, интервью, издано восемь сборников и авторских монографий.

Общественно-политический центр - структурное подразделение Горбачев-Фонда. Центр изучает и сохраняет наследие эпохи Перестройки, организует общественные дискуссии и осуществляет проекты, способствующие упрочению позиций гражданского общества и содействующие демократическим реформам в России.

В структуре Центра выделяются три основных направления: научно-информационное (архивно-библиотечный комплекс), просветительское (экспозиция «М.С. Горбачев: Жизнь и реформы») и общественно-дискуссионное (организация и проведение конференций и «круглых столов»).

В Архиве собраны текстовые, электронные и аудиовизуальные материалы, связанные с деятельностью М.С. Горбачева и отражающие наиболее значительные события новейшей социально-политической истории России. Основу собрания составляют материалы, передаваемые в дар Архиву семьей Горбачевых, членами ближайшего окружения, а также материалы Горбачев-Фонда. Архив содержит более около 30 000 единиц хранения, в числе которых личные фонды М.С.Горбачева, А.С.Черняева, В.В. Загладина, Г.Х. Шахназарова, В.А.Медведева, а также документы Горбачев-Фонда. Кроме того, архив располагает уникальным собранием фотографий (около 20 000 единиц хранения).

Библиотека, насчитывающая около 6 000 наименований книг, брошюр и статей на русском и иностранных языках, комплектуется изданиями, посвященными Перестройке, деятельности М.С. Горбачева и отвечающими тематике исследований Фонда. В читальном зале, открытом для исследователей, регулярно проходят выставки книг и статей, опубликованных российскими и зарубежными издательствами.

11 марта 2005 г. в Горбачев-Фонде состоялось торжественное открытие постоянной экспозиции «М.С.Горбачев: жизнь и реформы».. Цель экспозиции - показать уникальность эпохи Перестройки, всю ее сложность и драматизм. Редкие документальные свидетельства из личных архивов М.С.Горбачева и его соратников, из собрания Горбачев-Фонда передают дух и реалии перестроечного времени.

Экспозиционный центр «М.С. Горбачев: жизнь и реформы» - это вклад Горбачев-Фонда в исследование истории современной России. Создатели экспозиции видят свою главную задачу в том, чтобы познакомить молодое поколение россиян с эпохой Перестройки, ее главным архитектором, основными действующими лицами и дать возможность глубже понять истинную историю своей страны.

Автор концепции Экспозиционного Центра - Вице-президент Горбачев-Фонда И.М. Горбачева-Вирганская. Дизайнерская группа: А.А.Литвин, А.Ф.Саргсян, Ю.Ломброзо.